If I Could Turn Back the Hands of Time…

**This blog entry imported from my previous blog FYI I’m Erika Online**

If you could go back in time and change things that you did, would you?

I’ve heard and seen this question several times. Most people answer in the negative, but personally, I always say yes…but with one caveat: I want the knowledge and wisdom that I have today. I mean, really, I just celebrated another year of life on this planet and I know a lot more than I did on day one.

Sure, I know some say that I wouldn’t have met the people that are in my life and I wouldn’t have all the experiences that I’ve lived through. And still some say that what has happened to you is your destiny. All that is fine and dandy…but…err…uhh…I love y’all but if I had the opportunity to correct just one of the mistakes that I made in life, I would do it! Just think, by going back far enough and changing ONE mistake, that would eradicate some of the subsequent mistakes and bad decisions that you made.

And I am sure that I wouldn’t meet all the people that I have (some I can do without anyway…just keepin’ it real). And sure, I wouldn’t be sitting here writing this blog at this computer…I would be dictating it for one of my assistants to enter for me. Or maybe I would be so VIP, someone else would be writing about me on their blog. Who knows?

Don’t get me wrong, I am not complaining about my life and I am more than content where I am. I don’t take for granted that it really could be much worse. But I often wonder what would have happened or how much better off I would be if I had made different decisions. 

  • What if I would had started investing instead of spending earlier in life?
  • What if I hadn’t dated the guy who cheated on me and took me for my money?
  • What if I handled my finances well proactively instead of having to fix the mess ups?
  • What if I hadn’t just breezed through my senior year in high school?
  • What if  I had known to respect myself long before I did? 

I know that no matter what, we are going to have some “what if” questions. But it would be so cool to erase the ones where you know that you would be better off if you’d taken the other route (or rather, not taken the detour).

But, let me get back to reality. We can’t go back in time. We can’t erase mistakes and bad decisions.

So what do we do? I get to answer with one of my favorite quotes:

Today well-lived makes every yesterday a dream of happiness and every tomorrow a vision of hope.

In other words, make right now count. Since you can’t change the past and you can’t truly control everything in the future, you have to do what you can with right now. Resolve to fix what you can and to make better decisions from now on so your life doesn’t become any more saturated with the negative “what if” questions.

Until next time, be easy, be blessed!

Deuces & Smooches! ~ Diva

Leave a Reply

